Good showing from indie publishers for UK Nibbies

Nearly 50 independent publishers in the UK are in contention for Small Press of the Year at this year’s British Book Awards organised by the Bookseller.  The prize, which comes in the form of a Nibbie, a bronze pen statuette, celebrates independent publishers delivering “diverse, innovative and risk-taking publishing”.

The entrants are from all corners of the UK and include nine from London, among them last year’s joint winners Boldwood Books and Magic Cat Publishing, as well as six each respectively from Scotland and the south of England, five from Wales and four from Ireland.

The finalists will compete to win their region first, before contending for the overall prize, which will be announced at The British Book Awards’ winner ceremony on 15 May 2023. The overall Small Press winner will also compete to be crowned Independent Publisher of the Year.

Philip Jones, Editor of the Bookseller and chair of the judges for the British Book Awards, said: “Whether they were staking their claim to the mainstream or mining their niches, these small press finalists responded magnificently to this year’s challenges, reporting another year of exceptional sales and profit growth in the face of Brexit and escalating running costs. These publishers are reaping the rewards from dedicated and often inspirational publishing, hands-on author care and community building, showing that even in a toughened climate, grass-roots book-making is alive and well.”